About us

PLASMA GERMANY, the competence network for plasma surface technologies, was founded in 1983 under the name "AK Plasma" as a joint committee by ten supporting organisations. It is the task of the competence network to promote scientific and technical collaboration among scientists, engineers and technicians from research and industry in the field of plasma-assisted surface treatment.

The competence network sees itself as:

  • a forum that provides professionals with the opportunity to meet regularly and to exchange information,
  • an organisation that promotes collaboration among research, development and application
  • a promotor of plasma surface technology.

Plasma surface technology is an interdisciplinary technology. Its most varied fields of application come together in this competence network. PLASMA GERMANY has personal members and is open to all professionals operating in the field of plasma surface technology. The membership is free of charge.

The competence network invites all members to a semi-annual meeting in spring and autumn. These meetings take place at different locations and offer numerous papers on selected current topics as well as attractive visits to companies and institutions. During the ensuing general meeting, all participants will receive cuurent news about conferences, international cooperation, supported programmes and much more.

"AK Plasma" is renamed to "PLASMA GERMANY"

At the autumn session on 18.11. 2009 in Asslar the change of the name from "AK Plasma" into  "PLASMA GERMANY" was being decided and the status of the membership at PLASMA GERMANY has been specified.  Through a new registration a confirmation of the sucessful membership follows.  PLASMA GERMANY Members need to be a member in at least one supporting organisation of PLASMA GERMANY. The membership has to be confirmed every 3 years, to have an actual list of members.  


Management Board

In relation to the articles of accosiations, the managemnt board of PLASMA GERMANY is being managed by a supporting organisation. Since 1.1.2005 the European Society of thin Films (EFDS e.V.) is the managing supporting organisation of PLASMA GERMANY. If you have any questions, please contact the EFDS directly.

Board of Directors

Dr. Christian Oehr
Fraunhofer Institut für Grenzflächen- und Bioverfahrenstechnik (IGB)
e-mail: oehr@igb.fhg.de

Honorary Chairman:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kyong-Tschong Rie
Technische Universität Braunschweig
e-mail: k.rie@tu-bs.de

Supporting Organisations

PLASMA GERMANY is a competence network of the ten following supporting organisations:

Coordinating Committee

The Coordinationg Committee has the task to advise and assist PLASMA GERMANY in realising its objectives. The Coordinating Committee currently has the following members:

  • Dr. Christian Oehr, Fraunhofer IGB, Stuttgart
    (Vorsitzender des PLASMA GERMANY)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Awakowicz, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
  • Dr. Uwe Beck, BAM, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Kirsten Bobzin, DVS e.V., Düsseldorf
  • Carola Brand, INPLAS e.V., Braunschweig
  • Prof. Wolfgang Diehl, Fraunhofer IST, Braunschweig
  • Dr. Achim Eggert, VDI e.V., Düsseldorf
  • Dr. Georg Erkens, Surcoatec Deutschland GmbH, Düren
  • Dr. Peter Frach, Fraunhofer FEP, Dresden
  • Dr. Wolfgang Fukarek, VTD Vakuumtechnik Dresden
  • Dr. Michael Geisler, Karlstein
  • Dr. Andreas Holländer, Fraunhofer IAP, Potsdam
  • Dr. Kerstin Horn, Innovent e.V., Jena
  • Dr. Sasa Jacob, DGO e.V., Hilden
  • Prof. Holger Kersten, Christian-Albrechts-Universität, Kiel
  • Dr. Michael Liehr, W&L Coating Systems GmbH, Reichelsheim
  • Dr. Andreas Mehner, AWT e.V. , Bremen
  • Dr. Sven Richter, EFDS e.V., Dresden
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Röpcke, DGPT e.V., Bochum
  • Dr. Christoph Schiffers, CemeCon AG, Aachen
  • Alexander Schwock, BNPT e.V., Greifswald
  • Dr. Johannes Strümpfel, Senior Consultant PVD, Dresden (Vorsitzender des Koordinierungsausschusses)
  • Dr. Thomas Wagner, Robert Bosch GmbH, Stuttgart
  • Dr. Michael Wahl, DVG e.V., Kaiserslautern
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Weltmann, INP, Greifswald
  • Dr. Peter Wiedemuth, TRUMPF Hüttinger GmbH + Co. KG, Freiburg

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact:
Dr. Johannes Strümpfel
E-Mail: struempfel@pvd-dresden.de

or the office of

E-Mail: info@efds.org